Haldwani Violence | CPIML and other INDIA Coalition Leaders Meets Uttarakhand Governor

CPIML and other INDIA Coalition Leaders Meets Uttarakhand Governor

10 FEB 2024 | #Haldwani Violence

A delegation of CPI(ML) and other INDIA coalition leaders and civil society representatives met the #Uttarakhand Governor seeking a high level judicial inquiry into Haldwani violence.

The delegation demanded not to carry out counter-police-violence on people of Banbhoolpura in Hardwani following the violent incident of 8 February that claimed at least five lives in police firing on demonstrators protesting against the demolition of a Madrasa and a mosque built on Nazool land that was disputed and a High Court hearing was scheduled to be held on 14 February.

The delegation asked the Governor to direct all concerned officials to act according to the Constitution and the law instead of retaliatory violence. They said that such an incident of communal violence is unprecedented in the history of Uttarakhand, which warrants an independent and impartial inquiry. This must be investigated by either a sitting or retired judge of the High Court. The leaders in the delegation questioned the administration's callous, hasty and biased approach which led to the violence of this scale. They demanded suspension and removal of DM and SSP of Nainital with immediate effect.

The delegation said that the BJP government's ongoing demolitions in the name of anti-encroachment drive has serious implications where property demolitions are being done without due notices and in a biased manner quite illegally. The incident in Haldwani also confers the same as a case is subjudice in the High Court which was due to be heard on 14 February. Such blatant dictatorial actions should not have been taken by the administration. Moreover, the government should have worked in a sensitive manner for the rehabilitation of evictees as well as proper consultations with all the affected parties.

The delegation included Indresh Maikhuri, CPIML state secretary, Rejendra Negi, CPIM state secretary, Samar Bhandari, CPI National Council member, Congress state president Karan Mahra, Kamla Pant of Uttarakhand Mahila Manch, Tricholan Bhatt, Ravi Chopra, Yakub Siddiqui and many others.