Elections 2024: Meet the CPIML Candidates
Elections 2024: Meet the CPIML Candidates

Under the banner of INDIA alliance, CPIML has fielded Lok Sabha candidates in Bihar's Arrah, Karakat and Nalanda, Jharkhand's Kodarma and also for the bye-election in Agiaon assembly constituency. Independently, CPIML  is also contesting one Lok Sabha seat each in West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh and Odisha.  The party has also fielded candidates for Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh and Odisha.

Comrade Rajaram Singh will be contesting from Karakat Lok Sabha constituency in Bihar. He was the President of the All Bihar Students’ Union in 80s, and is also the Founder President of the Revolutionary Youth Association (RYA). He represented Obra Assembly constituency as MLA from 1995 to 2005. While he was MLA, he organised development conferences where he presented his report card amongst tens of thousands of people. The model that he presented as a people’s representative is worthy of being followed. At present, Comrade Rajaram Singh is the General Secretary of the All India Kisan Mahasabha and a member of the working group of the Samyukt Kisan Morcha. He is at the forefront of the countrywide farmers’ struggle. Rajaram Singh has stood firmly with the struggles of workers, Dalits, women, minorities, Anganwadi and other scheme workers.

Comrade Sandeep Saurav, sitting CPIML MLA from Paliganj is contesting from Nalanda Lok Sabha constituency. He was the former JNUSU General Secretary and ex-General Secretary of AISA and is an experienced organiser and leader of struggles for the rights of students, youth, oppressed and backward groups. Sandeep joined JNU, Hindi Department as a Masters student in 2007. A tireless left activist from his college days, he led the struggle in JNU against the scuttling of OBC reservations. Even in times of tremendous personal difficulties, Comrade Sandeep chose to lead the organisation and went on to become the National General Secretary of AISA. He was also selected as an assistant professor in Bihar, but he chose to work for the poor and marginalised as a humble CPIML activist in his home state.

Comrade Sudama Prasad is currently the sitting CPIML MLA from Tarari will be contesting from Arrah Lok Sabha constituency. He had been at the forefront of anti-feudal resistance of poor and oppressed caste peasants in Bhojpur, continuing the glorious legacy of the late Comrade Ram Naresh Ram, the iconic leader and unbeaten MLA of the party from this region. He also played a crucial role in organising the small traders in the region for their rights and livelihood. While MLAs from then ruling formation evade accountability, Comrade Sudama has set an example by publishing a thick “report card” of his term as MLA: accounting for every paisa spent and every decision taken. Sudama Prasad is the National Vice President of All India Kisan Mahasabha.

In Jharkhand, Comrade Vinod Singh, who is currently the sitting MLA in Jharkhand’s Bagodar Assembly and a politburo member of CPI(ML) will be contesting from Koderma Lok Sabha Constituency. He completed in Masters in Sociology from Banaras Hindu University. Known for his dedication and unwavering commitment to the cause of the people, he had played a pivotal role in supporting the migrant workers from Jharkhand who were stuck in various states during the Covid lockdown. Carrying forward the red flag of CPI(ML) and the revolutionary legacy of martyr comrade Mahendra Singh, Comrade Vinod is a strong voice who championed the issues and concerns of peasants, workers and oppressed sections inside the Jharkhand Assembly and on the streets.

After the conviction of the CPI(ML) MLA Manoj Manzil and 22 other comrades in a politically motivated case, the election commission has notified the bye-election in Agiaon assembly. Comrade Shiv Prakash Ranjan will be contesting from Agiaon assembly in the bye-election. He is the Bihar state secretary of Revolutionary Youth Association (RYA) and the state committee member of the CPI(ML) in Bihar. Along with Comrade Manoj, he had been at the forefront of various movements in Agiaon, including the historic Sadak Par School campaign for improvement of schooling.


Comrade Sajal Kumar De

Comrade Sajal Kumar De contesting from 38 - Bardhaman Purba (SC) Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal, is presently the State President of RYA. A school teacher by profession, Comrade Sajal is one of the leading organisers of the ongoing movements of Government job aspirants who have been deprived due to recruitment scams. He is a popular activist known for organizing agricultural labourers, adivasi oppressed and marginalized communities. He has also led the movement of microfinance debt quittance for rural women and agricultural workers. Bardhaman Purba constituency, has a strong presence of CPIML among farmers and agricultural labourers for decades.

Comrade Prakash Hikaka

In Odisha too the party is in fray at selected constituencies independently while supporting INDIA candidates in rest of the constituencies in parliament as well as assembly elections. CPIML has fielded Comrade Prakash Hikaka in Koraput parliamentary constituency while contesting in five assembly constituencies. The party has fielded Ashok Pradhan from Satyabadi assembly constituency, Anasima Sabar from Gunupur, Ram Chandra Paska from Bissam Cuttack, Rajesh Madangi from Lakhimpur and Krishna Palka from Rayagada assembly  constituencies.

Comrade B Bangar Rao

CPIML central committee member Comrade B Bangar Rao will contest from Kakinada parliamentary constituency.

In the Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, CPIML fielded candidates on five seats in Srikakulam, Anakapalle, Kakinada and Guntur districts. P Kameshwar Rao will contest from Palasa assembly constituency in Srikakulam district. S Ganesh is fielded at Chodavaram in Anakapalle district and in Guntur Ch. Gopal will contest from Tenali. In Kakinada district, V Shiva is contesting from Tuni and Y Arjun Rao from Prathipadu assembly constituency.