Long March from Naxalbari: Most Memorable Moments

May 1967: Spring thunder of Naxalbari.

May 1968: All India Coordination Committee of Communist Revolutionaries formed. Srikakulam struggle starts from November.

May 1970: First Party Congress secretly held in Kolkata.

August 1971: Comrade Saroj Dutt murdered, followed by Kashipur-Baranagar massacre in Kolkata.

July 1972: with CM's martyrdom on the 28th, curtains come down on the first phase of our movement. Party gets splintered into many factions.

July 1974: Central Committee reorganised on the second anniversary of martyrdom of CM, with Comrade Jauhar as GS.

November 1975: Comrade Jauhar embraces martyrdom in the battlefield of Bhojpur. Comrade Vinod Mishra takes over as GS.

February 1976: second Party Congress.

1978-79: rectification movement culminating in a Special All India Party Conference (April-May 1979) leads to major changes in Party line. Open mass activities and mass organisations initiated while Party remains completely underground.

January-February 1981: party organises unity meet of 13 ML factions to form a unified leading core of a democratic front proposed by us. Promising outcome proves short lived.

April 1982: Indian People's Front (IPF) launched in Delhi.

December 1982: third Party Congress decides on participation in parliamentary elections.

December 1985: party launches People's Democratic Front (PDF) in Karbi Anglong district of Assam, which wins a seat in the State assembly.

August 1986: militant gherao of Bihar assembly by IPF.

May 1987: PDF becomes Autonomous State Demand Committee (ASDC), launches a sustained mass movement and goes on to sweep the district council elections in 1989.

November 1989: IPF candidate Rameshwar Prasad gets elected to Lok Sabha from Ara (Bhojpur) in the face of enemy fire which claims more than a dozen lives.

1990: IPF wins seven seats in Bihar assembly in February. Special All India Conference in July initiates the process of the party's restructuring and opening up. First all India IPF rally on 8 October in Delhi.

1991: Comrade Jayant Rongpi enters Parliament as ASDC MP.

December 1992: Fifth All India Congress in Kolkata brings the party out in the open.

1993: All India Students' Association (AISA) notches up impressive victories in UP campuses like Allahabad, Banaras Hindu University, Nainital and in JNU.

1995: All India Organisational Plenum held at Diphu in July to streamline the party's organisational network. Successful Jharkhand bandh on 14 December.

1996: Adhikar Rally in Delhi on 11 March. ASDC forms its five-member group in Assam assembly, retains its majority in Karbi Anglong and also unseats the Congress in the neighbouring North Cachar Hills district. Indian Institute of Marxist Studies (IIMS) formed.

1997: Halla bol rally in Patna (March 5) followed by successful Bihar bandh on April 2.

1998: Comrades Nagbhushan Patnaik and Vinod Mishra passes away on October 9 and December 18 respectively. Central Committee unanimously elects Comrade Dipankar Bhattacharya as GS. 'Kesariya hatao, desh bachao' campaign from 25 August to 25 November.

2001: "Anti-War, Anti-WTO Rally" in Delhi on November 9.

2002: "Loktantra Bachao" rally at Patna on 14 March demanding the dismissal of the Narendra Modi government.

November 2003: founding Conference of All India Agrarian Labour Association in Ara.

2005: martyrdom of Comrade Mahendra Singh on 16 January.

2007: 150th anniversary of 1857, centenary of Bhagat Singh’s birth and 40th anniversary of Naxalbari upsurge celebrated throughout the country. Eighth All India Party Congress -- the biggest ever -- held in Kolkata in December.

Liberation Archive